Skip Navigation

OXE Chemical Engineering Honor Society

OXE — Chemical Engineering Honor Society

The Gamma Delta Chapter of Omega Chi Epsilon (OXE), which is the American National Honor Society for Chemical Engineering, was inaugurated on 12 April 2012. The chapter has more than 140 members and recognizes outstanding undergraduates and graduates for their achievements in chemical engineering while promoting their further success in the field.

Dr. Mohamed Nounou, Professor of Chemical Engineering and OXE Faculty Advisor, joined the OXE chapter at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas, in 1995. Commenting on the purpose of the society, he said: "One objective of OXE is to recognize the academic achievements of exceptional chemical engineering students. Other objectives include promoting original investigation, comradeship, and professionalism, and supporting the university's chemical engineering program and its student body." 

Chemical engineering students at the University of Illinois founded OXE in 1931. The society currently includes more than 20,000 members and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. Since then, OXE societies throughout the world strive to benefit their respective university communities. The Gamma Delta Chapter at Texas A&M at Qatar is no different, as it aims to merit students who exhibit academic excellence and good character. New students admitted to the Chemical Engineering Program will have the chance to learn more about the field of Chemical Engineering through various events held by OXE.

The Texas A&M at Qatar chapter of OXE continuously strives to be the go-to organization for any problems students may face during their years as undergraduates or graduates, while supporting students and educating them about the benefits of pursuing academic excellence. The organization also strives to provide students with a platform for exhibiting and upholding essential values such as professionalism, service, and comradeship.

The Executive Board for the 2020-2021 academic year are:


Nuha Khan


Reem ElShabasy


Zeeshan Ahmed


Noor Henzab

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Mohamed Nounou