Skip Navigation

Student achievements recognized for the 2020-2021 academic year

Published May 06, 2021

Texas A&M University at Qatar, a Qatar Foundation partner university, has recognized students who have excelled in academics, leadership and involvement for the 2020-2021 academic year during the university’s annual Aggie Achievement Awards. 

The highlight of the event were the Student Organization Awards, which this year went to:

  • Student Leader of the Year — Shaheeb Hayajneh ’22
  • Student Event of the Year — Virtual Palestinian Night (Palestinian Cultural Club)
  • Student Organization of the Year — Graduate Student Association
  • Student Engagement Award — Afsha Ayaz Shaikh ’22
  • Advisor of the Year — Sahar Mari 

Texas A&M at Qatar recognized several May graduates as students of the year:

  • Farah Ramadan ’21, Chemical Engineering
  • Safin Hossain Bayes ’21, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Hadear Hassan ’21, Liberal Arts
  • Dana Al-Yafei ’21, Mechanical Engineering
  • Fay Alsulaiti ’21, Petroleum Engineering
  • Ahmad Al-Ahmad ’21, Science

Mohammad Lameh, master’s student in the Chemical Engineering Program, was recognized as graduate student of the year.

Receiving the Buck Weirus Spirit Award were Leen Al Homoud ’21, Safin Bayes ’21 and Nivinya Hemachandra ’22. Established by Texas A&M University’s Association of Former Students in 1982, the award honors students at Texas A&M’s main campus and Qatar campus who excel each year in terms of involvement, experiences, impact and spirit.

Rand Al Agha ’22 received the Gathright Phi Kappa Phi Outstanding Junior Award, which is based on an evaluation of research or creative production, community engagement, accomplishments and awards, and academic record.

In addition, two students were recognized for achievements in research with the Richard E. Ewing Award for Excellence in Research: Rashid Almusleh ’21 (undergraduate) and Arhsad Ali ’19 (graduate).

Receiving Excellence Awards from the Student Government Association (SGA) were Hourig Ohanian ’21, Mohamed Fattouh ’22 and Muhammad Saad ’24. SGA also presented its Collaboration Award to Neha Rashid from Marketing and Communications.

The Department of Student Affairs presented its annual Aggie Core Value Awards to students and faculty and staff who epitomize Texas A&M’s core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service. Receiving Aggie Core Value Awards were:

  • Respect — Hind Al Mulla ’24 and Dr. Mahmood Amani, Petroleum Engineering
  • Excellence — Abdallah El Zamli ’22 and Dr. Brittany Bounds, Liberal Arts
  • Leadership — Rand Al Agha ’22 and John Louis Bolch, Records
  • Loyalty — Moamen Moursy ’23 and Amanda Mather, Academic Services
  • Integrity — Omar Aly ’22 and Dr. Leeann Rudd, Liberal Arts
  • Selfless Service — Hourig Ohanian ’21 and Helen Nasr, Engagement 

Dr. César Octavio Malavé, dean of Texas A&M at Qatar, said that involvement in organizations and activities outside the classroom builds leadership, communication, administrative, organizational and other skills that will serve students in their future careers.

“I am excited tonight to congratulate all Aggies who have embodied Texas A&M University’s core values of respect, excellence, leadership, loyalty, integrity, and selfless service,” Malavé said. “These are the values that not only make us proud Aggies, but make me honored to serve as the dean of this campus. I stand here tonight extremely proud of you — not only for your accomplishments, but for the character you have demonstrated in the process. Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners, and to all Aggies who have worked so hard this year just to get to this point.”

Graduating seniors also named their faculty of the year, who were recognized during the ceremony. Receiving Faculty of the Year Awards from each academic program were:

  • Mohamed Nounou, Chemical Engineering
  • Joseph Boutros, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Mark van de Logt, Liberal Arts (history)
  • Eyad Masad, Mechanical Engineering
  • Mohamed Fadlelmula, Petroleum Engineering
  • Ashfaq Bengali, Science (chemistry)