Skip Navigation

Gharib and Karkoub recognized for leading the Laboratory Safety Award Program

Published Jun 01, 2016

Dr. Ann Kenimer and Dr. Eyad Masad presented appreciation plaques to Dr. Mohamed Gharib and Dr. Mansour Karkoub for their initiative and outstanding leadership of the Laboratory Safety Award program at Texas A&M University at Qatar. The Laboratory Safety Award program was established at the Qatar campus by Gharib and Karkoub in 2015 and the program began in the 2015-2016 academic year.

The Laboratory Safety Award program encourages, recognizes and rewards individuals and teams who maintain, enhance and contribute to the improvement of the safety performance of Texas A&M at Qatar’s laboratories. Laboratories are evaluated and scored on safety compliance, organization and innovation in safety practice. The resulting new ideas will make the Engineering Building a safer workplace for everyone. The name of each year’s winning laboratories are mounted on honor plaques in the Dean’s Suite.

This year, the Chemistry Academic Lab received the academic laboratory award and the Sustainable Energy and Clean Air Research Lab received the research laboratory award.