Skip Navigation

Winners of faculty and staff awards announced

Published May 02, 2009

Several members of the Texas A&M at Qatar faculty and staff were honored for their continued hard work and dedication to the University and students alike. Below is a list of the 2009 faculty and staff honorees.

Texas A&M at Qatar Years of Service Recognition
The service award is awarded to faculty and staff of Texas A&M at Qatar who have completed five years of service.

Ahmed Abdel-Wahab
Hala Abdul-Jawad
Milivoj Belic
Mark Bell
Beverly Farmer
Curtis Farmer
Khalid Farzat
Suzanne Gyeszly
Jim Holste
Tingwen Huang
Carol Nader
Mark Ridgway
Laila Sayeh

ABET Recognition
This honor is to recognize those who contributed significantly to the preparation for the Texas A&M at Qatar ABET team accreditation visit in addition to follow-up activities and response to ABET findings.

Ahmed Abdel-Wahab
Hassan Bazzi
Richard Griffin
Steven Gyeszly
Earl Hoskins
Houshang Masudi
Hazem Nounou
Mohamed Nounou
Mohamed- Slim Alouini
Douglas Thornton

Dean’s Meritorious Service Award
The Dean’s Meritorious Service Award was established to recognize outstanding and exceptional service to Texas A&M at Qatar, students and the community at large. This honor is bestowed to one member faculty member and one staff member.

Staff: Lama Abdalla
Faculty: Steven Gyeszly

Faculty Excellence Award
The Faculty Excellence Award was established to recognize and reward faculty who have shown excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, professional service, student interaction, engagement within the Texas A&M at Qatar community and beyond.

Mohamd-Slim Alouini

STAR Award
The STAR award was established to recognize and award outstanding service and achievement at Texas A&M at Qatar. This award was also designed to provide special recognition to staff member whose distinguished Service, Team spirit, Attitude and Responsibility exemplify the spirit of Texas AM at Qatar.

Alia Fakhr
Carol Nader
Jan Sweis