Skip Navigation

IEEE Student Chapter

IEEE, a non-profit organization, is the world's leading professional association for the advancement of technology.  IEEE was originally an acronym for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Incorporated. Since  the  organization 's scope  of interest has expanded into numerous related fields, IEEE  is now referred  to by the acronym alone.
The Texas A&M at Qatar Student Chapter of IEEE was established to provide electrical engineering students the opportunity to become familiar with the processes of a professional organization and reap the benefits of membership in the international association. The IEEE campus chapter helps develop the students' sense of responsibility, communication skills, ethics and professional knowledge. In order to become a member of the Texas A&M at Qatar chapter, a student must register as a student member with IEEE. Student IEEE membership benefits include the opportunity to participate in IEEE conferences and a subscription to Spectrum Magazine.
The university's student chapter has organized various  events since its inception. For example, during Fall 2007, three students participated in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) IEEE conference held in Bahrain paper competition was also organized. 
The officers are elected by chapter members at the end of each year. The new executive board members for the Academic year 2017 - 2018;
​Advisor ​Dr. Robert Balog
President ​Karima Ramadan
Vice President Sofian Ghazali
​OrgSync Coordinator Ghida Dandan
Treasurer​ ​Skander Helali